I Have A New Hero, And His Name Is Ari Gold.

15 Apr

How did I manage to miss this show, Entourage? I had always heard amazing things about the show, but now I have a whole new obsession that is making my Netflix Queue look like this: 

(The beauty of being late in the game means I can watch it all consecutively in a marathon instead of having to wait for each hiatus to be over in between.)

Not only is the show sharp, caustic, witty and oh-so-Los-Angeles, but there is that one added bonus that stood out to me…

I had a emotionally draining day today, and when I managed to pop in the first episode of the first season of Entourage, I got a treat.

I met a man who gets to scream out nasty things like I wanted screamed out today, for example, when Starbucks fecked up a simple order of a Grande coffee with one add shot of espresso, made me wait for 10 minutes to get a new one, delaying me from an appointment, and, to add insult to injury, issued no apology. I tweeted it out, but it’s an altogether different thing when you are able to scream it out like he can. And he’s allowed to scream and be nasty, because he’s got the clout from being unbelievably good at what he does backing him up. He’s golden, no pun intended.

In short, I have a new hero, and his name is Ari Gold.

Observe: [by the way, my favorite Ari moment thus far is at 3 min 8 seconds].

Okay, all right, so even if I were Ari Gold, I still wouldn’t have gone ballistic on the Starbucks staff this afternoon. But it’s fun to imagine it.

And part of the reason why I want to better myself with an MBA is because I feel like if I had that intelligence as ammunition to back me up and give me similar clout, I could win like Ari, himself “just a lowly Harvard grad with a J.D./M.B.A. from Michigan“, not only because he knows better, but because he really is better.

3 Responses to “I Have A New Hero, And His Name Is Ari Gold.”

  1. Efren 15 April 2009 at 11:16 am #

    You would totally kick butt. Nice Netflix queue, too.

  2. Eileen 18 April 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    One of my favorite shows. Best seasons are the first and second. This past season was mostly lame. Enjoy! Ari FTW!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ari Gold's Best Video - 16 April 2009

    […] (vbc) vbc.style.visibility = ‘hidden’; e.style.backgroundColor = ‘#fff’ }); }); Apr 15 I Have A New Hero, And His … trackback from post […How did I manage to miss this show, Entourage? I had always heard amazing […]

Leave a Reply

