Put Your Lovin’ Hand Out Baby.

9 Apr

Due to the fact that I’m a Revision3 fangirl, tuning in multiple times a week to catch Scam School, DiggNation & The Digg Reel, and, it turns out, just about anything that @bigepaz has a hand in producing, I have had to watch this commercial about 5 times per week, as Adidas is a Revision3 sponsor. It is attached to every show that is mentioned above.

I’m not complaining.

Quite the opposite, in fact.

I actually love this commercial. [Call me brainwashed, and a “sell out to the brand”, but seriously, one of my favorite articles of clothing is my old Adidas zip-up track jacket that I bought years ago. If you know me, you’ve seen me in it.]

Truly, these marketing people know what they’re doing. It’s simple, really. Get a house, fill it with people, some even famous, and party down in a “chic in the hills”, college frat style.

But I’ll argue that the ingenuity comes not only in the slow-mo, so that we can enjoy every sumptuous graphic presented to us, but in the choice of “Beggin‘”, by none other than Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons. It’s part throwback to a classier era of partying, or so we’d like to think, and part reference to Jersey Boys, which, if you’re an “in-the-know” kind of consumer, you’ll have already seen two Tony seasons ago.

Absolutely brilliant. I want an MBA so I can better contend with the brains behind this kind of beautiful, organized madness.

Full version of this commercial is available here.

One Response to “Put Your Lovin’ Hand Out Baby.”

  1. Kyle Tolle 9 April 2009 at 1:30 am #

    I’ve never understood wearing clothing where the only thing on it is the brand name. I find it highly unoriginal (interestingly, this is contradictory to their message), egotistical, and conformist.

    People who walk around in that sort of apparel are giving free ad-space and promotion to these companies, but feel good doing it: the ultimate brainwashing. I have very few articles of clothing that fit this description and I can almost guarantee that I did not buy any of them myself… Gifts can cause me ideological turmoil!

    Similarly, the sort of atmosphere they give in the commercial is completely unappealing to me. It seems anti-fun. How do people find that enjoyable in any way?

Leave a Reply

