The Most Bizarre Gift I Have Ever Received.

2 Feb

I politely accepted, but without many assuring words. Even as a young person, I sensed that she thought she was giving me a huge gift. I never forgot both the irrelevance of the gift and the pleased look on her face.

Horrendous, Horrendous Neon.The most bizarre gift I ever received was a New Kids on The Block beach towel, literally years after they had been big, had their 15 months of fame, and then faded into obscurity. It was not near a birthday, or near a gifting holiday, like Christmas. It just was. This horrendously ugly, neon-colored NKOTB beach towel.

It was from an older female relative, who had mistakenly assumed that all young girls of that age would want this absurdly gaudy beach towel. Wow. It was about 2 years too late.

Just the other day, this same relative, a decade and a half later, handed me a pink-colored Lladró knock-off ceramic of a woman holding her baby in her arms. Again, nowhere near a birthday, or near a gifting holiday, like Christmas. This time, I gave her a big hug and tried to rectify the silence I presented her with when I received the NKOTB towel and said, “Wow, cute! Thanks!”

I suppose the times may change, but a bizarre gifter never does! 🙂

Leave a Reply

