Archive | 10:38 pm

“I Wouldn’t Trade Her For Gold”.

20 Jan

Personally, I loved the gold-colored Isabel Toledo brocade sheath dress with matching coat. It had a less-traditional cut and feel to the bodice, but isn’t that what Michelle is all about anyhow? Less traditional? I’m okay with it!

As soon as I saw it this morning, I started humming “I wouldn’t trade her for gold”, a line from the song “Gold” by the band Interference from the original motion picture soundtrack, “Once“.

The color, dubbed as “lemongrass” by Toledo herself, the dress and coat were both made of lace layered over wool, for warmth. I saw it as a throwback to the 1950s, where many outfits were layered with lace and eyelet for a dimensional, elegant appeal. For more about the ensemble, click for the Wall Street Journal’s coverage.

Happy Inauguration Day To Us All!

20 Jan

See, I even put up the bunting.

Really, the only reason why I am not going all over-the-top excited & ballistic is because now, after we’ve done the initial work of electing him in, I’m sort of scared that he might crash & burn. I mean, yes, there will most certainly be times when he will fail and falter, but…as of the moment I see him as a sort of untarnished ethereal being…and now it’s like we’re opening him & his family up for tarnishing…

😦