Resolution No. 2 – To Bake Is Human, To Frost Divine.

4 Jan

Behold, The Magnolia Bakery cupcake!

Now, watch this:

Yeah, pretty impressive, no? I have watched that video a million times to see how he does it–his hand blocks the way for a crucial part during the frosting. :-/

But seriously, folks, I could swear that the unique concave/convex swirl frosting that Magnolia Bakery cupcake boasts is a mini-tribute to sculptor Richard Serra‘s contemporary art piece “Band“. In addition, the little concaves serve as teeny troughs for sprinkles.

#2. Despite the fact that my second New Year’s Resolution clashes badly with the my first, I would like to learn how to frost a cupcake like the Magnola bakers do–because to bake is human (& easy), to frost (like that) looks divine (and hard as heck!)

2 Responses to “Resolution No. 2 – To Bake Is Human, To Frost Divine.”

  1. engnr_chik 5 January 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    Oh, I want to be able to do that, too! The talent! The calories!

  2. lovemedeux 5 January 2009 at 10:35 pm #

    OMFG! Joanne! I thought you’d be the one with the know-how! Oh no…all my hope is gone. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

