Michel Gondry, I ♥ You.

23 Nov

Having just finished watching Be Kind Rewind, I just had to wiki up Michel Gondry once more before bed.

I learned:

According to the 2004 edition of the Guinness Book of World Records, Michel Gondry’s Levi’s 501 Jeans “Drugstore” spot holds the record for “Most awards won by a TV commercial”. The commercial was never aired in North America because of the suggestive content involving purchasing latex condoms.

Mais voilà! Through the magic of YouTube, c’est ici!

Cheeky. I love it. In other news, here is my (tentative) Michel Gondry Film ranking:

1. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. It made me cry in the theatre. It really did. Having seen it after a breakup, it was well timed. Seared into my memory forever.

2. The Science of Sleep. I made sure that I knew as little as possible about this film before I saw it, and the complete media blackout did good. It’s a bittersweet story, the best possible kind.

3. Be Kind Rewind. It is definitely “more American” than the others, as the NY Times Mag has said, but the Gondry-ness is still alive and well within this film. I’ll take this as Gondry’s love letter to small towns and their people.

I can’t wait to see what he does next.

Leave a Reply

