Check!

6 Nov

Okay.

I know that we voted him in based on his policies and plans, but nonetheless, we are the first country in history to embrace a biracial person into office–in a landslide victory, with voter turnout that has never been this overwhelmingly large since 1908!

As a mother of a biracial child, I am seriously besides myself. Typing this in a Starbucks surrounded by fellow Americans, a few days removed from Election Day, I am still so emotional about this that I can’t help but tear up! It is silly, but I am still not used to the idea of it…It hasn’t sunk in yet.

Even Inauguration Day will not suffice.

I will get it when I see him jetting off to important world summits, shaking hands with UN officials and meeting with Gordon Brown for a serious strategy meeting on Iraq. I will get it when I see him getting off of Air Force One to duck into the White House. I will get it when I see our First Baby Girls running around on the lawn for the annual White House Easter Egg Roll.

I will get it, and thank God. Because it was high time this this country, this melting pot, got there.

Leave a Reply

