Me On The Beeb! (As In, The BBC!)

5 Nov

Yes the BBC, the bastion of fair and balanced news that most “with-it” Americans have abandoned crazy, sensationalistic American news outlets–*ahem*Fox News*ahem*–for.

So my friend Clark is a writer at the BBC. Clark and I have always chatted back and forth about news events the world over, and has served as an outlet for letting my innate journalism major geek out to him. But recently, especially in these past few weeks as we got closer and closer to 04 November, I have been seriously opinionated and outspoken in all my RabidPoliticoSpeak to Clark, and found it rather refreshing to get a non-US perspective on the matters at hand.

Last night, as I was debating whether or not to get some sleep, as the final Prop 8 results hadn’t come back yet, Clark messaged me and asked me if I was willing to do a quick interview for BBC Radio. 

The first thing out of my mouth was,

“Oh sh!t, do I need to be read up on the issues? I just don’t…know if I am 100% read up!”

I felt nervous all of a sudden–should I have spent less time Palin bashing and more time cruising CNN and BBC? Ack! I was assured by Clark that I need not be a “Ms. CNN” as Kai says. Here’s the interview, courtesy of Clark and my IT Support.

BBC Radio Kent – “Breakfast”

*Cringe*.

I know that I said “um” too many times. I think I even threw in a “like” there. So much for wanting desperately to be the pride of my j-school alma mater. I swear, it was midnight, and I’d gotten no sleep the night before, due to pre-election day excitement.

It was a total surprise that they already knew about the story about Mads’ dissapointment at Barack not being at our polling station. Nice to know that my 3-year-old is famous in the UK now, too! I told Clark that I am so grateful that he clipped it up for me. Now I have the opportunity to play this at Mads’ wedding in 20 some odd years to embarrass her publicly! YES!

After the interview, I went to check on Mads, who was knocked out asleep. Poor child. She doesn’t know what’s coming to her!

4 Responses to “Me On The Beeb! (As In, The BBC!)”

  1. bigepaz 5 November 2008 at 11:43 pm #

    Great job! How exciting to have this recorded and for Madeline to hear when she’s older!

  2. lovemedeux 6 November 2008 at 1:51 pm #

    Eileen, I know you’re totally being nice. LOL! I sucked! I was too nervous. And super tired.

  3. Clark 10 November 2008 at 6:05 pm #

    Glad to help Mads become more of a star!

  4. lovemedeux 11 November 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    Yes, you’re invited to her wedding. Haha…

Leave a Reply

