What’s The Diff?

23 Oct

Before I start with my devil’s advocate line of questioning, let me tell you that I own all of Coldplay‘s albums. ven the iffy one, X&Y. Rush of Blood To The Head is still in heavy rotation on my iPod, as it is still one of my favorite albums of all time, and Parachutes gets a good amount of play as well. And of course, when Viva La Vida or Death And All His Friends was in pre-sales on iTunes, I laid my cash down, and I never do that.

But sometimes, I wonder. I know that Coldplay is supposed to be pop/alternative rock, but is this band just another unoriginal sell-out machine?

It’s videos like this that make me wonder. It’s of Boyce Avenue, a band out of Florida, covering Coldplay’s first smash hit single, Viva La Vida off of the latest album.

Of course there’s no string section, they need could use a drummer, backup vocalists and a bassist, but I will argue that it is all generally present in this video. Maybe Boyce Avenue, if they had the money, the fancy editing, a proper recording studio and a proper producer, could be just as good as Coldplay if not better? Raw talent is sometimes hard to pinpoint at the get-go–even The Beatles were rejected multiple times and Brian Epstein was told “guitar groups are on the way out, Mr. Epstein,” by Decca Records A&R executive Dick Rowe as he turned Epstein down flat.

So what’s the difference? 

Is it because Chris is married to Gwyneth? Have we just bought into the cult of Coldplay‘s personality? Is it because they’re English? Here’s the original video from Coldplay. Judge for yourself, and please do, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

