It’s Enough To Make One Spit Out Their Freedom Fries.

7 Oct

Obama Pictures and McCain Pictures

I sat down last night and watched Sicko for the first time.

I probably shouldn’t have.

Because for the first time in my life, I’m starting to think that maybe, just maybe, I’m not understanding why I’m an American. The recent political firestorm, in combination with the demoralized feeling I get in the litmus test that is the younger American votership of my friends, 

Living for years in Germany I used to say as a point of pride that I was an American. Someone would ask me what my nationality was, noting that I was obviously Asian, and I would smartmouth back:

“I’m American.”

I loved it. Because I felt American, 110%. Not Asian, not anything.

I knew what they were asking. They were asking what my cultural heritage was. Was I Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Filipino, etc. But being an American fish out of American waters in Germany, it felt more right to say “American” than to say that I was “Korean”.

But as Michael Moore says in Sicko, after learning about what kind of quality of living socialized healthcare–(which is supposed to be so bad, right?)–gives people in other first-world, developed countries, it is enough to make him put his freedom fries away.

I’m starting to wonder if I want to put my freedom fries away…for good.

5 Responses to “It’s Enough To Make One Spit Out Their Freedom Fries.”

  1. omgdidisaythat 7 October 2008 at 1:10 pm #

    Sadly alot of the bad stuff the world says about America and Americans is true.

    But on the positive side, I do not think there is a more honest, friendly and decent people on the planet. Of course there are exceptions, with everyone and everything; but in general I think it is like this.

    I suggest you don’t throw away your freedom fries just yet.

    Anyway, Sicko is painting European healthcare as some eutopia, it is nothing of the sort. Especially in England. Come over, try it out for yourself.

  2. lovemedeux 7 October 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    I can’t come over and try it out until I’m married to an Englishman. Ha.

    I agree, Americans have the greatest sense of can-do spirit, but … well, right now, we’re broken. And quite frankly, we might not be able to put together the American Morale together again.

    Check this book out: http://www.amazon.com/Third-Term-George-Hearts-McCain/dp/1439102139/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1223413626&sr=8-1

  3. omgdidisaythat 8 October 2008 at 1:17 am #

    You don’t need to get married, just walk in to any hospital and tell them whats wrong, they will treat you, but do expect to wait, and wait and wait.

    I hope you are wrong about America being broken, you have just been badly misled and let down by your leaders.

    Personally, I think dems or republicans are the same, when they get in to office, they will do exactly what they have been paid to do, which is not to look after the best interests of the people.

    😦

    Thank you for the link. I had a quick read, but I believe they are COA, corrupt on arrival, it’s not a surprise.

  4. lovemedeux 8 October 2008 at 9:12 am #

    I’m not going to try it until I’m married to someone from the UK–that would be unethical!

    We have been let down by our leaders.

    As Obama said last night in that debate–we did what we were supposed to, worked hard, saved, put it in a house.

    What happened next was beyond any of our control.

  5. omgdidisaythat 8 October 2008 at 11:17 am #

    I approve of your ethics, I was suggesting it, in the name of research 😉

    Yes it has been out of control.

    I found a video that explains it all, and is very funny too. If you have time, have a view.

Leave a Reply

