Do You Want To Know A Secret? Do You Promise Not To Tell?

13 Sep

I’m thinking of mailing a postcard to PostSecret

But I’m partially afraid in a silly way that people might find out that it’s mine. We’ll see. If I am brave enough to send it, I’ll let you know I’ve done so.

Have any of you wanted to send one in? Have any of you been brave enough to send one in?

I have been a PostSecret reader for years, devouring them quickly whenever new ones get posted every Sunday, but have never had a substantial enough one of my own to send in until now. The most amazing thing is, going down each page, I find that I feel the same way as some of the postcards. It’s a very human experience. And PostSecret is expanding–PostSecretFrance and PostSecret auf Deutsch are now robust blogs of their own accord. (Don’t worry, they have English translations available.)

Frank Warren, the creator of PostSecret, is coming to USC, my alma mater, in two weeks. I will be trying my darndest to be there to see him. There’s a portion of the evening where they pass around a microphone and ask if anyone wants to stand up and say their secret into it.

I confess, I’ll never be brave enough to get up there in such a setting, but ah well. It will still be nice to see the bravery that other people exhibit.

4 Responses to “Do You Want To Know A Secret? Do You Promise Not To Tell?”

  1. rebecca 14 September 2008 at 2:12 am #

    i love postsecret. a couple of years ago i was given their book. after looking at it, i felt so much more relaxed and more “normal”… glad other people share the same vices.

  2. lovemedeux 14 September 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    Yes, it’s actually quite amazing, the effect that it has, isn’t it? It’s like, “wow, someone else thinks that same exact thing?”

  3. Allen 18 September 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    It’s alot of fun to read those things. Too bad it’s soo addicting!

  4. lovemedeux 19 September 2008 at 11:15 pm #

    Yes, but there are only 20 postcards that debut only once a week, every Sunday.

Leave a Reply

