LoveMeRenegade

6 Sep

There are some faraway future dates in your life where you look forward to them thinking you’ll be a certain person when you get there. These may include the day of your wedding, the day you become a parent, the day you buy your first house, et cetera, et cetera.

For me, one of those days have rolled around and I am nowhere near where I want to be.

Tonight is the night of my ten year high school reunion.

Being freshly laid off, a single mother, and well, single, was not how I envisioned my triumphant return into the midst of my formerly mean, judgemental high school classmates as well as the ones that were nice.

But then again, it’s already pretty botched as it is–the committee that organized it decided to charge $115 per person (i.e.: if you’re bringing someone, you’ll be paying $230). And so a “renegade”–not my words, but Eileen’s, bless her heart–group of my classmates and I decided to meet at a bowling center adjacent to the bar that is the venue for the main event. Somewhere along the line, I became “mean” and a “dick” and “immature” and “disrespectful” for not wanting to pay $115 and trying to organize my fellow classmates who weren’t going to the main $115 reunion. Hmph. My fellow “renegades” and I don’t know what the big deal is–we weren’t planning on attending the expensive reunion anyhow. However, in the spirit of fraternité, I invited the Mean Girls & Co. down to the Geek Squad party at the bowling alley.

I know this is insane, but I hear “The Final Countdown” playing in my head, à la Arrested Development. Because I swear it–tonight, if pushed, I will speak my piece. This wasn’t ten years ago. It’s not about the Mean Girls versus the Geek Squad.

Or is it still?

In any case, I am prepared to stand up against all forms of cattiness for what the “renegades” believe in, because with gas at $60 a tank and milk at $4.69 a gallon, there is no way I’m paying $115 to subsidize my classmates’ getting drunk at an open bar.

Have I become who I thought I’d be ten years ago when I’d come to this day, this night? Just maybe…The me of 10 years ago would hardly have stood up and started an anti-reunion, and talked back when the Mean Girls talked trash…

2 Responses to “LoveMeRenegade”

  1. kaiskeebeat 7 September 2008 at 11:28 am #

    i never got th memo for my HS reunion! don’t know when it is/was. boo, not that i’d go, i just thought i should know when or where it’s going to be.

  2. lovemedeux 7 September 2008 at 1:26 pm #

    They didn’t send me an invite either. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

